About BPSC
Irwin Awards

The IRWIN Award


  The prestigious IRWIN Award is awarded in several categories each October.Industry Recognition of Writers In the News

IRWIN Award Winners

The IRWIN Award, named for Book Publicists of Southern California founder Irwin Zucker, was introduced in 1995 as a way to formally and publicly recognize BPSC members who conduct the best book sales/ promotion campaigns. Honorees share with the BPSC audience the steps they took that led to the success of their book promotion campaigns.

Celebrity personalities present the IRWIN Awards each year at BPSC's October meeting. Past presenters have included:

  • Irwin & Irwin, Broadcaster "Shotgun Tom" Kelly (surname Irwin) and BPSC Founder Irwin Zucker (2015)

  • Wink Martindale, legendary TV game show host (2014)

  • Chuck McCann, TV host and author (2013)

  • Judi & Shari Zucker, Double Energy Twins (2012)

  • Tommy Hawkins, basketball star/broadcaster (2011)

  • "Shotgun Tom" Kelly, radio-TV personality (2010)

  • Chris Erskine, LA Times columnist (2009)

  • Stan Chambers*, TV host & author (2008)

  • Kelly Lange, popular TV anchor & author (2007)

  • Fred Travalena*, Comedy Impressionist (2006)

  • Irwin and Irwin: Stand-up comic/former Johnny Carson TV producer Stan Irwin (in memoriam) and Irwin Zucker, BPSC founder (2005)

  • Dick Van Patten*, "Eight Is Enough" TV series (2004)

  • Peter Marshall, "Hollywood Squares" TV game show (2003)

  • Rose Marie, of "The Dick Van Dyke Show" (2002)

  • Shelley Berman, pioneering comedian (2001)

  • Johnny Grant*, Honorary Mayor of Hollywood (2000)

  • Stephanie Edwards, Rose Parade TV hostess (1999)

  • Wink Martindale, legendary TV game show host (1998)

  • Gary Owens*, "Laugh-In" TV star (1997)

  • Fritz Coleman, NBC-TV weatherman and comedian (1996)

  • Chuck Henry, NBC-TV anchorman (1995)

*In memoriam

For more information about the IRWIN Award, contact BPSC.

IRWIN Award Winners


Home       Irwin Awards       About BPSC       Membership       Benefits       Principals       Newsletter       Events       Chopped Liver

Designed and Hosted by Wordpix.com / Web Design & Hosting Solutions
Site Maintenance by BPSC Member Peggi Ridgway